INES Board Reappointed for Two Years

The Board Members of the INES Bernd Protze (VNG Gasspeicher GmbH), Peter Schmidt (EWE Gasspeicher GmbH), Alain Caracatzanis (Storengy Germany GmbH) and Michael Schmöltzer (Uniper Energy Storage GmbH) have been confirmed in their offices by the General Assembly.

On September 6, 2017, the acting Board of the Initiative Erdgasspeicher (INES) was re-elected in an ordinary general meeting. From January 1, 2018, the next two-year term will begin for the four Board Members Bernd Protze, Peter Schmidt, Alain Caracatzanis and Michael Schmöltzer. "We are pleased that the INES members have once again expressed their confidence in us," explains Bernd Protze, who was confirmed as Director of the Board on 19 October 2017. Peter Schmidt was appointed Deputy Director of the Board.

The INES Board has cast an outlook on the association's activities during the general meeting. One focus of the activities will be on an action package to make the value of storage for the energy system more visible. It proposes legal and regulatory incentives to allow gas storage to contribute to achieving the energy policy goals of the future.

"The industry is currently undergoing dynamic change. Especially in times like these, questions of the future are the focus of attention. INES has proven to be essential to the industry to answer and proactively address such issues. Through INES the gas storage industry maintains a regular and intensive exchange with the decision-makers," said Peter Schmidt. "Especially regarding the further expansion and integration of renewable energies in the future, there is no way around gas storage. This realization has now also reached parts of politics," he adds.